The Plaza Hotel is a landmark French Renaissance château-style 20-story luxury hotel designed by Henry Janeway Hardenbergh (who also designed The Dakota) and opened in 1907. The hotel's main entrance faces the southern portion of Grand Army Plaza, commemorating the Union Army in the Civil War and is centered by the Pulitzer Fountain, Abundance by Karl Bitter. Although it has changed hands throughout the decades, it is now owned by El-Ad Properties and managed and operated by Fairmont Hotels and Resorts of Canada. El Ad bought the hotel with plans of adding residential and commercial sections. Today The Plaza offers 282 hotel rooms and 152 private condo hotel units; it is managed by Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. In November 2008 The Plaza Hotel unveiled its retail collection, an underground mall featuring luxury brands such as Vertu and Demel Bakery. In 2010 the Plaza Food Court, an eating establishment run by Chef Todd English, opened in the underground mall. The Plaza offers condominium residences and pied-a-terre suites for those who wish to own. The suites are located on the 11th to 20th floors. They all have been designed to The Plaza’s exacting standards. The owner of a pied-a-terre suite may occupy it for a total of 120 days per year. The condominium apartments, known as “private residences," at The Plaza have their own entrance on Central Park South. The residences are exquisitely furnished with Versace Home Collection décor and offer high ceilings, ornate moldings and mantelpieces, with walnut-bordered herringbone parquet floors and views framed by double-insulated windows. There are limited-edition fixtures and fittings, stone countertops as well as state of the art high-resolution, wireless flat-panel display, offering residents an array of concierge and security services at their fingertips. The Plaza comes with a rich history making it an icon and is known as the most recognized hotel in the world. It also was accorded landmark status by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission in 1969 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1986.